Out of Town for Business

This is kind of a weird thing: The company I work for has acquired another store, and they’re having a few people from my store go there to train for two weeks. My manager asked me to do the training on 3rd shift, and I decided to go for it.

It’s in a tiny town, like, an hour and a half away from where we work, so the three of us are staying in a hotel. However, the town is so tiny that it doesn’t have a hotel and we have to stay a half hour away. :p

So basically I’ll be checking into the hotel on Monday and checking out Saturday morning, coming home for the weekend, then going back to rinse/repeat the next Monday. I assume we’ll have internet access and I might go for a few walks. Exploring a new city might be fun. I’m downloading MapleStory on my laptop as we speak, so Degon and I could probably play together. (I still have to find out if the laptop can actually run the game. Oh shit, I lost The Game.) I’ll probably end up calling him at least a few times.

Things are weird with me and Degon right now, so on the one hand I’m kind of grateful for the opportunity to have some space but also don’t want to do that since we’re specifically trying to re-knit the closeness of our relationship? This is going to be the longest we’ve been away from each other since we moved in together. Weird.

Anyhow, I feel kinda special that they wanted me to do it. Pretty much no one else has the experience needed, and my manager would likely have ended up being the one to train the night shift if I hadn’t accepted. I imagine they’ll give me some Bonus Bucks or something to indicate their thanks.

I’m an adult now?

Leave a Reply

