I did a really hard thing yesterday

Yesterday, I officially resigned from my position as a blogger for both Teen Skepchick and Queereka.

This is kind of a big deal for me… I mean, it’s something I was doing for personal reasons, for free, with volunteered time. Writing for TS was my first step in becoming an activist and actually participating in the community. The Skepchick Network will forever be my gateway into skeptic activism.

But I haven’t been able to blog regularly for months, now. I can’t even maintain a regular blogging schedule on my personal blog, let alone other sites. There’s a standard for quality and quantity that I’m just not able to meet as a contributor to TS and Queereka.

My depression is the biggest factor in this, if not the only relevant factor. The editors knew I was taking some time to recover and therefore my volume of output was down, so there’s no outside pressure causing guilt. But I do still feel responsibility when I hold a position as a contributing author, which has been making me feel guilty and cluttering up my brain.

So yeah… It sucked a lot. And I feel pretty bad about quitting, I just have to reduce the number of things I need to pay attention to. Prioritizing is hard when you can’t think properly most of the time.

One thought on “I did a really hard thing yesterday

  1. I think this was a smart move for you. There is quite a bit of drama in those networks, and when you have personal issues (depression) that you are trying do manage, that drama can be very counterproductive.

    Now I won’t pretend to understand your exact feelings, your thoughts, or any of the contributing factors to your mental health. You are unique.

    So, I wouldn’t be dad if I didn’t make some attempt at giving life advice (I know, I know, it’s not great), but I’ll take a stab at it anyway. Get in touch with Jozef. He’s on the pulse of local, regional organizations, and he might be able to help you find some outlets for you activism. I don’t say things like this often, but that man is brilliant in every possible way. I can only aspire to be half the man he is. If you already talk to him, then that’s great.

    Remember, this is a step forward. Keep taking those steps. Depression is often fed by taking steps backward or not moving. Forward can help take you away from the quagmire.

    Like

Leave a Reply

