I Love Activism

After several weeks of feeling totally crappy, I’ve balanced back out! Quite nice. And lots of really great things are happening with life right now! Intentional bad grammar!

Recently, I’ve been added to Queereka as a regular contributor. It’s another Skepchick site, sure, but it is another site. Getting to know more people and sacrificing sleep to chat with them.

Also, that. I had a text Skype chat with fellow Queereka members to talk about business and generally banter. Following that, I dropped in on the Gamers for Godlessness marathon to chat with JT Eberhard, Jason Thibeault, and Lauren Lane for a couple hours. I got to plug my jewelry-making and got the idea from JT to make a piece to donate to Camp Quest for them to auction off. I’m going to make it this morning and surprise him with an email asking wtf to do with it. :D

One of the organizers for Skeptics of Oz is in email contact with me, discussing what I might talk about when I SPEAK THERE IN APRIL. Yeah. Speaking at an event. Alongside JT Eberhard and other notable atheists. Maybe. But it’s looking good.

This morning, I’m so happy and so thankful and so incredibly dumbfounded that I’ve made it this far. I attended my first atheist event in February and started writing for Teen Skepchick in April. I feel like I’ve made so much progress in such a short amount of time.

I love every single person I’ve met because of my activism. There’s no way I’d be growing and blossoming like this if I hadn’t met wonderful people who are unfailingly supportive, kind, and respectful. They’ve all treated me like I belong, and I feel welcomed and comfortable and loved.

From what I can tell, I’m even a better person since I started being active in the community. I identify as a humanist and try to do as much as I can to help others. I’ve eliminated so many of the harmful mindsets and language I’ve used to lesser other people, even the ones I never knew I was doing. I’m strong enough to hold my ground and challenge illogical beliefs openly. This may very well be my career. 

To all the lovely feminists, nontheists, activists, bloggers, geeks, science nerds, gamers and all: Thank you so much. I’m so glad I know all of you and get to share my experiences with you. You make me feel more at home than I ever have before.

Love all of you. <3

Leave a Reply

