On Hair

This poor blog has been, sadly, neglected for the last several weeks. I’ve had lots of ups and downs, and a complete lack of motivation. (Funny that this is my personal blog, but I don’t want to talk about the really personal things happening with those “ups and downs”.)

Today, I’m very energetic, and will be staying up a little late to write–maybe for three different blogs. We’ll see. Anywho, before I launch into talking about my hair, figured I’d update that I went to a mental health clinic and they’ll be contacting me in a couple weeks to get me in touch with someone who handles meds. So, that’ll be nice.

Okay, so, hair. Mine has been getting longer; I’ve been growing it out for about a year. The last time I got it cut was in February ’11. I decided to grow it out, as I have several times before, because C likes long hair, and hasn’t seen me with it long. I tend to get to the point I’m at and lop it off.

I lop it off because it’s this horrific length where most of the back fits in a ponytail, but there’s no place for the front of my hair. It doesn’t quite reach the hairtie, and it’s just long enough that it flops out behind a headband if I wear one. I can’t wear a full head-covering device at work, unless I want to spend money on a hat that says EZ-GO. No thanks.

Side thought: I wonder if they’d let me wear one of my hats if I did something like tape EZ-GO on it… Worth it to ask.

It’s also quite uncomfortable to keep my hair down at work because of how hot it is. And it gets in the way all the time.

You’d think that having long hair gives me dysphoria, but actually it’s a non-issue. I leave it down and wavy and from my perspective, it seems to add to my masculine genderqueer thing. Couple that with wearing the binder, and being in public is not uncomfortable. Having my hair up isn’t quite as masculine-feeling to me, but it’s not exactly feminine either. Again, the binder helps.

At this point, I’m starting to wonder if there’s something I can do to make it grow faster. I’ve heard lots of different things that supposedly help, but some of it is highly dubious. Perhaps I’ll do a post on TS about this… :D

All I want from my hair is for it to be an inch or two longer, relatively quickly. Or I might chop it all off. Again.

One thought on “On Hair

Leave a Reply

