Day of Silence

Today is the GLSEN sponsored Day of Silence. I’ll quote the little card pinned to my chest today.

“Please understand my reasons for not speaking today. I am participating in the Day of Silence (DOS), a national youth movement bringing attention to the silence faced by lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and their allies. My deliberate silence echoes that silence, which is caused by anti-LGBT bullying, name-calling and harassment. I believe that ending the silence is the first step toward building awareness and making a commitment to address these injustices. Think about the voices you are not hearing today.”

Most people in the LGBT community already know about the event and what it’s for. This is the 10th Day of Silence that GLSEN has endorsed, which I would assume means that it’s the 10th official DOS. I’ve done DOS every year for three years, since I was introduced to the gay community.

Last year, I remember reading about Day of Truth. The hate group Exodus International started it as a counter-argument to the Day of Silence. Their goal was to profess to the masses the ‘truth’ about love. I was disgusted and irritated. This year, Focus on the Family is retaking Day of Truth and turning it into Day of Dialogue, which can either be observed today or Monday. They are taking a more peaceful and less controversial course of action in having students hand out conversation cards and encouraging a Dialogue.

This looks to me like they’re trying to make us LGBT+s look bad again. If a Christian kid with one of those cards goes up to an LGBT+ or ally kid and tries to talk to them and the LGBT+/ally kid ‘refuses’ to speak to the Christian kid because of their vow of silence… Hm… That kid would look like a real asshole to the public eye.

Two students have tried to get me to break my vow today, and I was forced to break it by the Principal. Just a personal side note about how people respond to the event. And it’s only 10:30.

I keep seeing examples of this same trend. If you don’t know what trend I speak of, it’s Christians coming up with their own bullshit holidays and demonstrations to cover up whatever they’re trying to overshadow at the time. It began–I think–with Paganism. Christmas is four days after Yule to ‘make it easier to transition from one religion to another’. Easter is around the same time as May Eve, and Easter Eggs were originally used in May Eve celebrations to signify the beginning of the life cycle. All Saint’s Day is November 1st, the day after Halloween, which was originally Samhain, the Pagan new year.

Now we have the Westboro people doing “God H8s”, which is horrible for so many reasons and mocks the “NO H8” campaign. ‘Family oriented’ groups and groups dedicated to ex-gay therapy are starting Day of Truth or Day of Dialogue to combat LGBT+ demonstrations. Next, the week after No Name-Calling Week will be “No Christophobia Week” and the day before Transgender Remembrance Day will be “They Deserved To Die And Are Burning In Hell Day”.

I find myself, again, disgusted.

For information about Day of Dialogue that comes from the Christian side, click here.
For brief information about Pagan/Wiccan holidays, click here. This isn’t the best link, but I’m running out of time and in a hurry.

Leave a Reply

